Work Samples

D161 officials recognize employees for contributions to education

Summit Hill School District 161 sought to recognize employees for contributions to education at the board’s May 10 meeting.

“Those Who Excel program is one of those vehicles that we use for these recognitions,” superintendent Barb Rains said.

Each year, employees are allowed to nominate colleagues for one of three categories: administrator, classroom teacher and student support personnel.

Receiving recognition were Leslie DeBoer, director of special education; Annette Barron, seventh-grade language arts teacher; and Audrey Fields, occupational therapist.

DeBoer took on a role as an administrator this year. She transitioned to the position having already possessed a host of knowledge to put to use.

Barron is a veteran teacher for Summit Hill School District 161. Her teaching supports and connects a variety of content areas. In addition, Barron was recognized for the positive rapport she maintains with students, allowing them to thrive in a supportive environment. Outside of the classroom, she volunteers her time supporting students, staff and parent organizations at open gyms, athletic contests and music events.

Fields provides assistance to meet the physical needs of students as well as the social and emotional. Often, her work is geared toward children with individual educational plans, but she also offers support to others within the district through consultations, observations, recommendations, suggestions, strategies, tools and ideas.

“It’s a great honor to be recognized by your colleagues, and I can think of no more deserving individuals,” Rains said.

After each of the nominee’s contributions to the community was read aloud, they took time to shake hands with the Summit Hill Board of Education.

Also recognized were Matt Tadla and Lori Dusek for earning the Blue Ribbon Award from IAHPERD for Arbury Hills School’s physical education program.

Board members congratulated the April Wall of Gratitude honorees: district office employees Leslie DeBoer, Karen Diehl, Lisa Drenner, Sandi Fitzpatrick, Mary Ellen Graff, Carol Grant, Tammy Miller, Barb Rains, Doug Wiley and Terri Witt; Arbury Hills School employees Missy Aleo, Nicole Druktenis, Christine Hudziak, Laura Kinnan, Jennifer Lynch, John Snipes, Susan Stachler and Dianna Wagner; Dr. Julian Rogus School employees Lynne Barnes, Francie Boss, Kristine Bowen, Emily Carey, Joyce Chakos, Judy Chathas, Stephanie Daley, Sandra Ellis, Joy Gallivan, Joelle Gary, Katelyn Hunkler, Cathy Kluge, Pam Maynard, Katie Mecher, Megan Mefford, Ashley Pickens, Michael Ruffalo, Tara Russell, Tracey Schimke, Amy Thormeyer, Wendy Webster and Kim Zylka; Frankfort Square School employees Anita Brown, Kelly, Collins, Megan Cullen, Christina Doherty, Audrey Fields, Jessica Howard, Lisa Hyde, Jason Isdonas, Robert Jeffrey, Cathi McNeil, Tina Prorok, Jodi Reyes and Amanda Sabo; Indian Trail School employees Lisa Cisneros, Lauren Clough, Mary Alice McClain, Katie McGrath, Patsy Pfeiffer, Maggie Rees, Lucy Rios and Dana Wright; Summit Hill Jr. High employees Annette Barron, Colin Bradley, Elizabeth Braun, Scott Cancialosi, Ken Cronin, Michael Deutscher, Steven Evenhouse, Kathryn Hopkins, Anna King, Mollie Marshall, Mike McDonald, Laura Meagher, Amanda Park, Dan Pierson, Sara Pustz, Susan Quilantan, Roxanne Rodgers, Scott Smalter, Agnes Soch, Patrick Sullivan and Kristina Turek; and Walker School employees Tara Boudreau, Maura Carroll, Jason Collins, Rose Dampf, Laura Goebel and Amanda Talty.

Committee appointments

Also during that meeting, the board appointed members to committees.

Acting as the board’s liaison for District 843 is board President Rich Marron with board Secretary David Faber filling in as the alternate.

Board member Joy Murphy, along with board member Jim Martin, will act as the lead contacts for the Frankfort Township meetings.

For the district’s policy committee, board Vice President Stacey Borgens serves as chairwoman. Faber and Martin will join her.

For the Illinois Association of School Boards, Borgens will act as the lead contact with Marron serving as the back up.

A number of other appointments were also made for Summit Hill officials, including assignments to lead the district’s Parent Teacher committee, student achievement and safety.

“We will leave this open subject to getting positive approval from Mr. Leonard and Mrs. Borgens,” Marron said. “I did not share this in advance with them, so I just want to get confirmation from them.”

Borgens and Leonard were absent from the meeting.